When A Run Doesn’t Go As Planned

Today was supposed to be my long run. 17 miles. I got up really early, as I usually do on a long run day. Living in Southern California, even in October, as soon as the sun comes out, it can get hot really fast.

I was out the door about 10 till 5 and set out on my normal route. About 5 miles in, I felt a pinch in my left hip. It wasn’t too bad, so I just slowed down a bit and figured it would eventually fade. But it didn’t. In fact, it just hurt more. To the point I couldn’t ignore it anymore. After that, my head just wasn’t in it. I couldn’t convince myself to just try and keep going. I just wanted to sit down and not move my leg anymore. So, I called it at just over 8 miles. Which I know, isn’t anything to laugh at, but that’s 9 miles short. Which brings me up 9 miles short for this week.

I spent a good portion of the day feeling really down on myself and thinking I should have just sucked it up and ran. But I know ultimately, resting was what I needed to do.

So, tomorrow is a new day and the start of a new week. Back on the grind. 5 weeks left. I can do this.

10686833_10202312411326620_1600286334849977512_n

Leave a Reply

